Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin, BWV 1001-1006

Composition date:



Bach's Sonatas and Partitas for violin are constituted of six works for solo violin (three sonatas and three partitas). George Enescu called them 'The Himalayas of violinists': they are indeed some of the most-taught works among violinists, and are often performed in concert and recorded. The first recording of the complete Sonatas and Partitas for violin was made by Yehudi Menuhin, who recorded them in the 1930s.

The Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin were written at the time Bach composed the Brandenburg Concertos and the Suites for cello.

The violinists competing at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition must perform, during the first round of the Competition, the Adagio and Fugue from the Sonata No. 3 or the Chaconne from the Partita No. 2.


List of the Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin:

Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 10012:

  • Adagio
  • Fuga (Allegro)
  • Siciliana
  • Presto

Partita No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002:

  • Allemande
  • Double
  • Courante
  • Double
  • Sarabande
  • Double
  • Bourrée
  • Double

Sonata No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003:

  • Grave
  • Fugue
  • Andante
  • Allegro

Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004:

  • Allemande
  • Courante
  • Sarabande
  • Gigue
  • Chaconne

Sonata No. 3 in C major, BWV 1005:

  • Adagio
  • Fugue (Alla breve)
  • Largo
  • Allegro assai

Partita No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006:

  • Preludio
  • Loure
  • Gavotte en Rondeau
  • Menuet I
  • Menuet II
  • Bourrée
  • Gigue

About the composer

Birth date:

March 21, 1685

Death date:

July 28, 1750

Johann Sebastian Bach, one of the greatest composers in the history of music, left an incomparable work of perfection. With more than three hundred cantatas, his music commands veneration and admiration. His genius dominates…

Read his biography


Subscribe to our newsletter and receive's hottest news from the world of classical music!