The Organizing Committee of the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition announces:

  • 6 prizes for pianists,
  • 6 prizes for violinists,
  • 6 prizes for cellists,
  • 4 prizes for female singers,
  • 4 prizes for male singers.


The XV International Tchaikovsky Competition will offer the following prizes in each category:

  • Grand Prix US$ 100,000 in addition to the First Prize amount
  • 1st Prize US$ 30,000 and the Gold Medal
  • 2nd Prize US$ 20,000 and the Silver Medal
  • 3rd Prize US$ 10,000 and the Bronze Medal
  • 4th Prize US$ 5,000 and a Diploma
  • 5th Prize US$ 3,000 and a Diploma
  • 6th Prize US$ 2,000 and a Diploma


Among all first prize winners in each section only one Grand Prix winner may be declared.


The Special Prize for the best performance of a concerto with a chamber orchestra in Round II (in the piano, violin, and cello sections) is US$ 2,000 and a Diploma.


Photo: Boris Berezovsky receives a Gold Medal at the IX International Tchaikovsky Competition in 1990.