Twelve Caprices for solo cello, Op. 25

Composition date:



The Caprices, op. 25 are twelve pieces composed for cello solo by the Lombard composer Carlo Alfredo Piatti. They occupy a very prominent place in the repertoire for cello, like Bach's Suites for solo cello.

The cellists competing at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition must perform, during the first round of the Competition, one of Piatti's twelve Caprices (except from the Caprice No. 1).

List of Carlo Alfredo Piatti's Twelve Caprices for solo cello:

  • Capriccio No. 1 in G minor: Allegro quasi presto
  • Capriccio No. 2 in E-bémol major: Andante Religioso
  • Capriccio No. 3 in B-bémol major: Moderato
  • Capriccio No. 4 in D minor: Allegretto
  • Capriccio No. 5 in F major: Allegro comodo
  • Capriccio No. 6 in A-bémol major: Adagio Largamente
  • Capriccio No. 7 in C major: Maestoso
  • Capriccio No. 8 in A minor: Moderato ma energico
  • Capriccio No. 9 in D major: Allegro
  • Capriccio No. 10 in B minor: Allegro deciso
  • Capriccio No. 11 in G major: Adagio. Allegro
  • Capriccio No. 12 in E minor: Allegretto

About the composer

Birth date:

Jan. 8, 1822

Death date:

July 18, 1901

'The Paganini of the cello', like Franz Liszt called him, Carlo Alfredo Piatti was among the best cellists of the 19th century. Born in 1822 in Lombardy, he was taught how to play the violin by his father and then to…

Read his biography