Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 in G Major, Op. 44

Composition date:



Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 2 is less famous than its predecessor, although it is a technical and musical masterpiece. The work was dedicated to Nikolai Rubinstein, who died in 1881 before he could perform the score. The Piano Concerto No. 2 was thus premiered in New York in November 1881 under the baton of Theodore Thomas and with Madeleine Schiller at the piano. The Russian premiere dates back to 1882, when Anton Rubinstein conducted it in Moscow, with Sergey Taneyev (a pupil of Tchaikovsky) as a soloist.

The pianists competing at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition must perform one of Tchaikovsky's two first piano concerti.


  • Allegro brillante e molto vivace
  • Andante non troppo
  • Allegro con fuoco

About the composer

Birth date:

May 7, 1840

Death date:

Nov. 6, 1893

This year marks the 175th birthday of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, one of Russia's most beloved composers. The International Tchaikovsky Competition, which was named after the great composer, will commemorate the anniversary…

Read his biography