Variations on a Rococo theme, Op. 33

Composition date:



Tchaikovsky's Variations on a Rococo theme are a work for cello and orchestra. The score was dedicated to the cellist Wilhelm Fitzenhagen, who premiered it in Moscow in November 1877, with the conductor Nikolai Rubinstein. The critics were very enthusiastic and Tchaikovsky once said the score was with no doubt one of his best works.

The cellists competing at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition must perform, during the final round of the Competition, Tchaikovsky's Variations on a Rococo theme.


  • Moderato assai quasi Andante – Tema: Moderato semplice
  • Variation I: Tempo della Tema
  • Variation II: Tempo della Tema
  • Variation III: Andante sostenuto
  • Variation IV: Andante grazioso
  • Variation V: Allegro moderato
  • Variation VI: Andante
  • Variation VII e Coda: Allegro vivo

About the composer

Birth date:

May 7, 1840

Death date:

Nov. 6, 1893

This year marks the 175th birthday of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, one of Russia's most beloved composers. The International Tchaikovsky Competition, which was named after the great composer, will commemorate the anniversary…

Read his biography