Valse-Scherzo in C major, Op. 34

Composition date:



The Valse-Scherzo is a short piece (about 6 minutes) for violin and orchestra, composed by Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. Some say that it is Lalo's Symphonie espagnole, composed in 1874 and premiered in 1875, that pushed Tchaikovsky to write his Valse-Scherzo. It was premiered under the baton of Nikolai Rubinstein, who was joined by violinist Stanisław Barcewicz in September 1878.

The violinists competing at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition must perform, during the first round of the Competition, a version for violin and piano of Tchaikovsky's Valse-Scherzo.

About the composer

Birth date:

May 7, 1840

Death date:

Nov. 6, 1893

This year marks the 175th birthday of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, one of Russia's most beloved composers. The International Tchaikovsky Competition, which was named after the great composer, will commemorate the anniversary…

Read his biography