The Well-Tempered Clavier, BWV 846-893

Composition date:




The Well-Tempered Clavier consists of two books of twenty-four Preludes and Fugues each, in all twenty-four major and minor keys. The first book (BWV 846-869) dates back to 1722, although Bach revised his manuscript thereafter. The second book (BWV 870-893) was composed in 1744.

The pianists competing at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition must perform, during the first round of the Competition, one Prelude and one Fugue from Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier.


About the composer

Birth date:

March 21, 1685

Death date:

July 28, 1750

Johann Sebastian Bach, one of the greatest composers in the history of music, left an incomparable work of perfection. With more than three hundred cantatas, his music commands veneration and admiration. His genius dominates…

Read his biography