Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra





Artistic and General Director — Vladimir Fedoseyev.


The ensemble was formed in 1930 as the first national radio orchestra. Its first leader was Alexander Orlov, and at various times it was headed by Nikolai Golovanov, Alexander Gauk, and Gennady Rozhdestvensky.

In 1974 Vladimir Fedoseyev became the group’s leader. Currently the ensemble emphasizes cycles of the works of a single composer, projects for children, charitable events, and also concerts that combine music and words. In 1993 the orchestra was named after Tchaikovsky.