Concerto for violin and orchestra No. 4 in D major, KV. 218

Composition date:



Mozart's Violin Concerto KV. 218 is the fourth of the five violin concerti composed by the composer. It clearly belongs to the Italian school of composition, and it is often said to be very inspired by Boccherini's heritage.

The violinists competing at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition must perform, during the second round of the Competition, one of the three last violon concerti by Mozart.


  • Allegro
  • Andante cantabile
  • Rondeau (Andante grazioso – Allegro ma non troppo)

About the composer

Birth date:

Jan. 27, 1756

Death date:

Dec. 5, 1791

His music is unclassifiable to such an extent that it is impossible to pronounce the least analyses of the child prodigy. His wandering childhood enriched by numerous journeys let him come into contact with all of Europe's…

Read his biography