Concerto for violin and orchestra No. 5 in A major, KV. 219

Composition date:




The Violin Concerto KV. 219 is the last of Mozart's five violin concerti. It is also one of the most famous scores ever written by the composer. It was premiered in 1775 in Salzburg.

The violinists competing at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition must perform, during the second round of the Competition, one of the three last violon concerti by Mozart.


  • Allegro Aperto – Adagio – Allegro Aperto
  • Adagio
  • Rondo

About the composer

Birth date:

Jan. 27, 1756

Death date:

Dec. 5, 1791

His music is unclassifiable to such an extent that it is impossible to pronounce the least analyses of the child prodigy. His wandering childhood enriched by numerous journeys let him come into contact with all of Europe's…

Read his biography